Review: Blood Rose Rebellion by Rosalyn Eves

31674896

Title: Blood Rose Rebellion
Author: Rosalyn Eves
Date: March 28th 2017
Pages: 416
Publisher: Knopf Books for Young Readers

Blood Rose Rebellion by Rosalyn Eves is a YA historical fantasy fiction book about Anne Arden, an almost 17-year-old English Girl.

In the world created by the authoress, at the top of the society there are the Luminates, people who can use elemental magic. Then we have the common people, called Barren. Luminates are commanded by the Circle, a council of the most powerful Luminates.

Anne Arden is from a Luminate family, but she has been deemed Barren during her Confirmation.

Everything begins when she ruins her sister Catherine’s debut into society.
After destroying her sister’s illusions, she had to escape from England with her grandmother and they go to Hungary, her mother and grandmother’s birthplace.

Against all the darkness and death and turmoil of the last few days, his kiss was everything light, everything good.

Before continuing, I have to warn you that the following review has some spoilers!

It took me two months to read the last chapters, and I almost DNF it. In the end, I felt it more like a chore I had to do than a thing I wanted to do.

I highly disliked the protagonist. She’s almost 17 years old, but she acts like someone far more younger, not thinking about the consequences of her own actions.

She’s selfish, though she states otherwise. I thought she lacked coherence.

The first time she goes to the Binding, a spell that works like a reservoir of power, accessible only to the Luminates, everything is dark and cold. Then, the second time she goes there, everything is different from before and she believes only what she sees this time.

Her cousin Mátyás kissed her. I don’t have any problem but it was highly disturbing since they didn’t know each other very well.

When Mátyás is arrested for being a rebel, his sister, therefore Anna’s other cousin, Noémi helps the protagonist to free the prisoners, she doesn’t take in consideration that her brother is a shapeshifter and could easily escape from the Hapsburgs.

After breaking the Binding, she unleashes every creature trapped within it. She broke it in order to free the rebels, but in the battle, the monsters noy only killed Luminates, but also citizens and  other rebels who wanted to free their comrades. And she doesn’t do anything to save them.

Gábor, a Romani boy, was the only one I liked. He cared deeply for his family and tried to protect them.

I had never heard this note in Gábor’s voice before, and it took me a moment to identify it. Uncertainty. Vulnerability. Odd how openness can make something familiar strange, and something strange familiar. Gábor was only a boy after all, not much older than I was.

I liked the writing style, but the story missed huge chunks of a good plot. If you want more reasons about why not to read this book, you should check Lex‘s review on Goodreads. I give it 2 out of 5 stars. 

⭐⭐

About the author

Rosalyn Eves grew up in the Rocky Mountains, dividing her time between reading books and bossing her siblings into performing her dramatic scripts. As an adult, the telling and reading of stories is still one of her favorite things to do. When she’s not reading or writing, she enjoys spending time with her chemistry professor husband and three children, watching British period pieces, or hiking through the splendid landscape of southern Utah, where she lives. She dislikes housework on principle. Her first book, BLOOD ROSE REBELLION, comes out Spring 2017 from Knopf.

goodreads-badge-add-plus-71eae69ca0307d077df66a58ec068898

13 thoughts on “Review: Blood Rose Rebellion by Rosalyn Eves

    • OMG! I’ve been following your blog, your Instagram and Twitter account for a long time! I love them! Thank you so much for reading my review 💚😍

      Like

  1. I have this on my TBR too and I know it might be shallow of me to say this but – I didn’t want to read it because of the slightly generic title. Though after your review, I am less convinced than ever.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Ugh, sucks so hard that the main character is annoying. 😦 I’m a very character-driven reader, so I don’t mind if a book is slow as long as I enjoy the characters, but on the flip side, I hate books if I don’t like the main characters. Sorry this didn’t live up to expectations. 😦

    ~ Aimal @ Bookshelves & Paperbacks

    Liked by 1 person

    • I was expecting much more from this book. Anyway, I also am one of those people that have to enjoy the characters to enjoy the book, too 🙈😳 Has this happened to you with some books?

      Like

Leave a Reply

