Review: Lifeblood by Gena Showalter

51XOVNh8l6L._SX329_BO1,204,203,200_

Title: Lifeblood ( Everlife series, #2 )
Author: Gena Showalter
Date: February 28th 2017
Pages: 443
Publisher: Harlequin Teen

Lifeblood by Gena Showalter is the second installment to the Everlife series. It starts right where we left Ten in the first book. She has signed with Troika but, with her decision, she has to face the consequences : Killian is Myridian and their love is steadily threatened by several people.

My present is the sum total of decisions made in my past-my own decisions, and even those made by the people around me.

Throughout the book Ten grows up. She’s not the girl full of resentment anymore : she’s someone who can forgive and who can be happy. In the war between the two realms, she loses people very close to her, but she moves forward, without forgetting them; she will fight for Killian, the boy she loves.

And what can I say about him? I love Killian. Can someone like him exist in my life? He plays, and when he plays seriously, he strikes to win. And the thing he strives for is protecting Ten. I wanted to know more about his past and his mother, hopefully this will happen in the next book.

The two are one of my most beloved couples. Together they’re too cute and I’m a huge fan of them.

If I fight for you, I help my realm lose the war. If I fight against you, I lose you. There’s no middle ground. Not with us. Like you, I have to choose.

This book made me feel emotions I rarely feel. It made me smile, it made me cry, it left me breathless, it made me laugh, it angered me. But, above all, it made me love this book. More than the first one.

Gena Showalter is one of my favorite authors and this book didn’t disappoint me, though I have some questions I hope will be answered in the next awaited book ( e.g. How come Archer died, but Killian has a second life? Why can Toikans “ resuscitate “ one of them every year and Myridians can’t? Why is Many Ends in Myriad? ). Her writing style seizes the reader’s interest and attention since the first lines and we can see the development of the characters, therefore I give this book 4 out of 5 stars.

⭐⭐⭐⭐

I recommend it to those who have liked Gena Showalter’s previous works and to fantasy lovers.

About the author

Gena Showalter is the New York Times and USA Today bestselling author of over thirty books in paranormal and contemporary romances, as well as young adult novels. Her series include White Rabbit Chronicles, Angels of the Dark, Otherworld Assassins, Lords of the Underworld, Alien Huntress and Intertwined.

Her novels have appeared in Cosmopolitan Magazine, and Seventeen Magazine, and have been translated all over the world. The critics have called her books “sizzling page-turners” and “utterly spellbinding stories”, while Showalter herself has been called “a star on the rise”.

goodreads-badge-add-plus-71eae69ca0307d077df66a58ec068898

Leave a Reply

